October 2022 Employee Spotlight – Rebekah Wilson

Employee Spotlight – Rebekah Wilson

 

Rebekah Wilson recently joined Vivalon in August as the Healthy Aging Programs Supervisor. She is so excited to be a part of such an amazing team and organization. Her former work experience has primarily been in education, and she is passionate about access to learning at all ages. After graduating from UC Santa Cruz, she spent nine months abroad backpacking throughout Central and South America to practice her Spanish language skills and immerse herself in the diverse cultures. Since then, she has been living in the East Bay, where she enjoys her time outside in the sunshine. Rebekah states that she looks forward to getting a chance to meet all the wonderful volunteers here at Vivalon. 

 

More about Rebekah:

What do you enjoy most about volunteering/working at Vivalon? 

I love the social aspect of the work that we do. I enjoy interacting with new people and this job provides many opportunities for that. 

Who is your hero? 

Hmm, I would say both of my grandmothers. I have close relationships with them both and they really inspire me to live my life to the fullest. 

What did you do prior to volunteering/working at Vivalon? 

Prior to working at Vivalon, I was working as a permanent substitute teacher at a dual immersion elementary school in Oakland Unified School District. Before that, I worked as a Program Manager at an education nonprofit in Oakland.  

What was your favorite movie as a child? 

The Emperor’s New Groove 

What is your favorite family vacation? 

When I was 16, I left the country for the first time with my dad and sister. We went to several different countries in Europe. France was my favorite! 

What would you change about yourself if you could? 

I wish I were a little bit more daring. I am the type of person that hates roller coasters, would never consider skydiving, etc. I am not a thrill seeker.  

What are some random fun facts about you? 

I was born on Christmas day and so was my older sister!

I write with my left hand, but do everything else with my right.

I grew up in Memphis, Tennessee until the age of 12.

What is something you want to learn or wish you were better at? 

I would love to re-learn piano and how to read music; I learned as a kid but have not played in many years. 

What is your favorite place on earth? 

This is a tough question! A couple places that immediately come to mind are the Yuba River, Big Sur, and this tiny town in Colombia, Minca.  

Who are the special people in your life? 

My siblings; I have one older sister and one younger brother. Also, my oldest childhood friend and her children who are my godchildren. Additionally, other members of my family including all four of my grandparents and other close friends that I met in high school and college.  

Who is your favorite celebrity? 

I do not follow many celebrities closely, but my favorite music artist currently is Katie Crutchfield better known as Waxahatchee.  

Scroll to Top